Sunday School Presidency

All members of the Church age 12 and older, are encouraged to participate in Sunday School classes, which are held each week as part of the regular weekly worship services. Its purposes are to teach the gospel of Jesus Christ and strengthen individuals and families.

The First Presidency of the Church calls three men to be the general presidency of the Sunday School. Under the direction of the First Presidency and the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, members of the Sunday School general presidency advise on matters concerning Sunday School.

The current general president of the Sunday School is Russell T. Osguthorpe and his counselors are David M. McConkie and Matthew O. Richardson.

Style Guide Note:When reporting about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, please use the complete name of the Church in the first reference. For more information on the use of the name of the Church, go to our online Style Guide.